Create surface from Point Cloud

I am fairly new to Rhino and am importing point cloud scans into rhino to create a surface that I can work with and analyze. I am looking for help to possibly create a script or find a more efficient process than what I am doing to surface.

Current Process

I import the point clouds and hide all the point clouds other than what I want surfaced. I choose arbitrary points on this point cloud (typically a roadway). These points could range from 500 to 1000+ and the processing time for rhino to catch up from this ‘lag’ could take up to an hour. After these points are made, then I will select the points and use rhino’s patch feature and trim.

What I have tried

• Patch - patch all points on point cloud (Does sometimes work with little noise on a roadway but becomes uneven if there are signs,trees,etc and also can take an extremely long time or never patch)

• MeshPatch - Similar issue as before with noise and also processing time when using the point cloud

• Clipping Plane - Have tried using this to reduce noise on top of the surface I want. Similar to before, the processing time is too long for patch.

• Clipping out points- I have clipped out points using Crtl+Shift and deleting anything above a roadway to create a smoother surface. Again, this would need to use all the points in the point cloud to process.

Possible Scripting Idea