Creating a surface from points

I’m still new to Rhino, so my apologies if this is obvious, but I’ve not been able to get this to work.

I have a huge (about 200,000) set of points created with Paneling Tools. The majority of the points are at 0 on the z axis, but one group of them is at z +1, another group at z +2, another group at z +3.

I’m trying to create a surface from all of these points, to make a sort of undulating topography. It seems like there are so many points that when I create a paneling grid the program takes a very long time to respond, if it responds at all. I don’t need to preserve all the points, just have a surface that registers the change in the z axis as bumps.

I suspect this is really a noob issue, but would appreciate any help!

Hello- Patch would be the first thing to try- you may need to monkey with the stiffness setting to get it to register the Z the way you like it. Also, I don’t think I’ve ever handed Patch 200,000 points, I have no idea if that is a good thing or not, but if most of the points are at Z=0 then you may be able to ignore a lot of them.

-Pascal

1 Like

One other way I go about this sometimes it to make a mesh from the points - either using Rhino’s MeshPatch or the Delaunay component in Grasshopper - and then using Drape, drape a surface over the mesh. You can control the surface point density with the Drape command line options. Or, instead of using Drape, once you have the mesh, you can use Contour to cut a series of parallel sections through the mesh, Rebuild the section curves (and adjust if necessary) then Loft a surface through the sections…

–Mitch

1 Like

Thanks for the responses, you two.

Pascal: It seems I have too many points to patch them all at once. When I try I get an error message. No doubt it’s my ignorance, but if I break the points into 4 pieces and patch them separately I just can’t seem to get the effects I want.