Can't create a texture on uneven surface

Hello everyone, i have an assignment where i have to design a speaker with parametric features as the speaker’s holes.
I decided to design a donut shaped speaker and modeled the donut form and split the surface for where ı want the holes to be.
I watched various tutorial videos from youtube and tried 2 different versions; voronoi and cull pattern.
I’ve attached the files below, please tell me what im doing wrong,
Thank you so much
try2.3dm (398.0 KB)
try2.gh (10.6 KB)
TRY1.gh (8.9 KB) TRY1.3dm (782.9 KB)
at try2, even though i’ve selected the upper part of the donut as my surface, the patterns projected at all parts of the donut, i don’t know what should i do

Hi @melisaozcan,

One option is to keep the original (untrimmed) surface, do all your mapping stuff clean, then take care of culling.

Check this example:
try2_b.gh (23.0 KB)

Best

1 Like

hi, thank you so much for reply and the time you spent on this, im new to grasshopper so i don’t really know what those new commands you’ve added mean, why are they there, i have to learn them and develop my grasshopper knowledge,
but what should i do to create holes from that texture you’ve projected on the donut, when i add extrude command they just indiviually extrude (the one on the gorund), i also couldn’t bake it (i’ve selected everything and then baked it but everything went different)
sorry to make you explain it this much, im having a really hard time understanding grasshopper,

thank you so much again

no problem - ignore for now

got you

here’s a more practical way for learning purposes, though there are other ways as well;

first, re-create that ‘same’ surface but ‘untrimmed’, meaning it’s four-sided and not split - here’s one using the _revolve command:

use that (untrimmed) surface instead in grasshopper:

get its ‘dimensions’ with this command, use the dimensions (UV) to guide extents (XY):

the rest is what you already had…