BUG: Bugus behavior when entering numeric values while drawing lines

Hi,
since a while(maybe two SR) there is something odd going on with number being entered in the CL while drawing eg polylines.

see this example, I draw a line, set the origin, the enter the length in CL without pressing enter so I can dynamically set the line at the given length in the viewport, then when I click or enter to complete, often, not always though, the line will have a wrong length!! that is quite a critical bug imho, and seems something got broken there. I have been drawing like that since many years and it is not normal…

Hello - is the line in plane or is it the correct length (Length command) but out of plane?

-Pascal

i have “planar” on, and yes the line is in plane, but gets the wrong length.

It is hard to show without a video… I will try to make one, but I am too busy right now.

I think it might be related to smarttrack. It seems I can’t reproduce the error when its off.

Hello- thanks, I can repeat this with SmartTrack - if the cursor hits a smart guide thing, it overrides the length and goes to that location.

https://mcneel.myjetbrains.com/youtrack/issue/RH-57171

-Pascal

yeah!

and its only with mouse click, enter actually works as far as I can tell.

thanks for confirming :+1:

HI,

I just installed V7 and the bug is not really gone.

when SMART TRACK is on, ORTHO disabled and I use a numeric line length input while drawing a polyline and hold SHIFT to constrain to axes the length is still overridden to the location of the mouse cursor.

please confirm :slight_smile:

thnx,
Daniel

Hi Daniel -

• Click to set the start point type in 12 and no Enter the preview is constrained to 12 units. If you hit Enter, the line will be drawn at 12 units in the direction of the cursor - if you click, the cursor location is used.