[BUG] 3D Mouse Camera Tumble

I have a 3Dconnexion SpaceMouse Compact that I’ve been using since October of 2018. My work computer is a MSI gaming laptop with Windows 10 and I lock it away in a cabinet every night for security, so all the peripherals get connected and disconnected each day.

I’m running Rhino 7 and have been suffering from a reoccurring issue where the first time I open Rhino each day and move the 3D mouse, the camera continues to move and just tumbles off into infinity. This happens about 40% of the time I open Rhino and I have to unplug the 3D mouse and plug it back in to reset it to normal.

Is this an issue with Rhino 7, an issue with the 3Dconnexion driver, or an issue with my computer?

The times this happened to me I have had the puck of the device being pressed by other items on my desk - paper work I placed on the device, a pen that pushed it after somehow being wedged between the puck and a nearby larger item.

I haven’t had this happen without anything on or against the device - it has been plugged in to my machine for a very long time.

I’ve also experienced that particular thing as well at my previous job were my desk was cluttered, but in this case my 3D mouse is sitting free and clear of anything nearby. I’ll have to test if this also happens in Rhino 6 or not.

I don’t know if it matters anything, but I have not installed the 3DConnexion driver software.

I use my 3D mouse with quite a few applications so I have to run the driver in order to make adjustments for each app.

1 Like

So I just opened Rhino 7 to get my day started and the 3D mouse is doing the camera tumble thing again. This time instead of unplugging and re-plugging in the 3D mouse, I closed Rhino 7 and re-opened it, and it still tumbles upon using the 3D mouse.

Out of curiosity I then opened Rhino 6 and it’s doing the exact same thing upon trying to use the 3D mouse: the camera just tumbles away infinitely.