Best mouse for Rhino on OSX?

Hi,
as previously mentioned I’m a CAD newbie working through the Rhino tutorials.

I’m using the Magic Mouse on my Imac, but it’s frustrating me the way it disconnects all the time (not a Rhino problem) and I find the scrolling hard. MagicPrefs helps but I can’t help wondering if there’s a better mouse?

I have used a couple of Logitech cordless laptop mice on the Imac and neither of them scrolled properly with the scroll wheel.

Any suggestions?

Andrew

I have a Logitech M705 mouse, works fine on MacRhino…

–Mitch

i use logitech mice… the MX series is nice because of the thumb buttons which i use for macros in rhino… the scroll wheels are weighted as well meaning you can spin it once and it will spin for quite a long time on it’s own…

MX Anywhere for my laptops and MX Performance on the desktop… i don’t install the logitech software and they work fine as plug&play with osx mouse prefs but your mileage may vary on that one.

I use the “Apple Magic Trackpad”, and am happy with it.

Hey thanks guys for those replies.

I have the trackpad but have never found drag and release as easy as with a mouse.

Do other guys find the trackpad OK to use for drawing? If so perhaps I should work at it, but I got the impression that 3D experts used a mouse.

i use a mbp trackpad all the time on-site… i’m fine with doing complete drawings using only a trackpad… rhino is tapped into it as well so you have things like two-finger orbiting plus a few gesture options for running macros…

it’s option-twofinger for zoom which isn’t bad… just that a mouse scroll wheel is a little better for zoom

I use only my MacBook trackpad and no mouse, and do some fairly complex images - walterdill.com. This is done using keyboard commands/aliases. They are easy to set up and speed up regularly used commands. For instance, I use rt for rotate, and mr for mirror. Set up aliases in preferences found in the main Rhino menu.