Beginner question - grid with different elements

Hello everybody=)

Im completely new to rhino/ grasshopper and am trying to understand the programm and how it works. Currently im challenged with the task of designing a modell of an apartement complex. My first problem is, that i dont understand how i create a grid and then define the two different sets of columns as well as the outer elevator on an parametric grid, so that they are independet from another. Please view the sketch for an overview of the situation. Any advice would be very much appreaciatetd.

Best regards und thanks in advance

Jonas

grid_2023Mar14a.gh (11.5 KB)

grid_2023Mar14b.gh (49.6 KB)

Inside the Grid Region cluster:

grid_2023Mar14b3

1 Like

Thank you so so much, the solution worked perfectly.

Looks good. Hard to tell what you did from images alone without posting your code.

Oh yes sorry i forgot that.

Best regards
Jonas

rasshopper script.gh (141.0 KB)

Merging your inputs to DeBrep means that you combined squares and points from two buildings. So you lost a data tree structure that will likely be useful later.

Better to do it this way. CullPt (Cull Duplicate Points) before creating vertical lines means you won’t have any duplicate lines. The data tree structure means you could have different lengths for the two structures. Instead of lines, you could have created square or round columns.

grid_2023Mar15a.gh (152.1 KB)

And now you have two threads…

Hello everybody,
due to your kind help i was able to create the columns and storeys on the grid in grasshopper. I used extrudet Volumes to create the different components. Now i would like to integrate a feature which will allow me to vary the size of each created slab and simultaneously delete the columns if there is no connection between slab and column. Any idea how that could be achieved would be very muck appreciated.

Best regards and thanks in advance
Jonas

HausĂźbung DiB WiSe22-23 TĂźnnemann neu.gh (96.4 KB)