Bad preview in materials panel, hard to fine tune materials

Hi,
I am having troubles to fine tune the materials in rhino, once is totally pixelated. However, whenever I change the window size, I can have a pick of a preview on good quality, wich desapears when I release the mouse button…


How can I improve this? I’m using the latest Rhino 7 and a Graphic board with 4gb.
Thanks

If you could start with posting the unabridged text result of the Rhino command _SystemInfo

Sure!
Rhino 7 SR10 2021-9-13 (Rhino 7, 7.10.21256.17001, Git hash:master @ 68677dc86520a0de9485d8b8fa2e841e757733f3)
License type: Educational, build 2021-09-13
License details: Cloud Zoo

Windows 10.0.19043 SR0.0 or greater (Physical RAM: 16Gb)

Computer platform: DESKTOP

Standard graphics configuration.
Primary display and OpenGL: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760 (NVidia) Memory: 4GB, Driver date: 9-13-2021 (M-D-Y). OpenGL Ver: 4.6.0 NVIDIA 472.12
> Accelerated graphics device with 4 adapter port(s)
- Windows Main Display attached to adapter port #0
- Secondary monitor attached to adapter port #1

OpenGL Settings
Safe mode: Off
Use accelerated hardware modes: On
Redraw scene when viewports are exposed: On
Graphics level being used: OpenGL 4.6 (primary GPU’s maximum)

Anti-alias mode: 2x
Mip Map Filtering: Linear
Anisotropic Filtering Mode: High

Vendor Name: NVIDIA Corporation
Render version: 4.6
Shading Language: 4.60 NVIDIA
Driver Date: 9-13-2021
Driver Version: 30.0.14.7212
Maximum Texture size: 16384 x 16384
Z-Buffer depth: 24 bits
Maximum Viewport size: 16384 x 16384
Total Video Memory: 4 GB

Rhino plugins that do not ship with Rhino
C:\Users\User\AppData\Roaming\McNeel\Rhinoceros\7.0\Plug-ins\Twinmotion Direct Link 2020.2 (e24ee14a-9514-47da-8fe6-f6e61b20160e)\Twinmotion Direct Link 2020.rhp “Twinmotion Direct Link 2020” 1.0.6.0
C:\Users\User\AppData\Roaming\McNeel\Rhinoceros\packages\7.0\IntelDenoiser\0.6.3\IntelDenoiser.Windows.rhp “IntelDenoiser.Windows” 0.6.3.0
C:\Users\User\AppData\Roaming\McNeel\Rhinoceros\packages\7.0\NVIDIADenoiser\0.4.1\NVIDIADenoiser.Windows.rhp “NVIDIADenoiser.Windows” 0.4.1.0
C:\Users\User\AppData\Roaming\McNeel\Rhinoceros\packages\7.0\SubstanceImporter\2.0.1\Substance.Win.rhp “SubstanceImporter” 2.0.1.0

Rhino plugins that ship with Rhino
C:\Program Files\Rhino 7\Plug-ins\Commands.rhp “Commands” 7.10.21256.17001
C:\Program Files\Rhino 7\Plug-ins\rdk.rhp “Renderer Development Kit”
C:\Program Files\Rhino 7\Plug-ins\RhinoRenderCycles.rhp “Rhino Render” 7.10.21256.17001
C:\Program Files\Rhino 7\Plug-ins\rdk_etoui.rhp “RDK_EtoUI” 7.10.21256.17001
C:\Program Files\Rhino 7\Plug-ins\rdk_ui.rhp “Renderer Development Kit UI”
C:\Program Files\Rhino 7\Plug-ins\NamedSnapshots.rhp “Snapshots”
C:\Program Files\Rhino 7\Plug-ins\RhinoCycles.rhp “RhinoCycles” 7.10.21256.17001
C:\Program Files\Rhino 7\Plug-ins\Toolbars\Toolbars.rhp “Toolbars” 7.10.21256.17001
C:\Program Files\Rhino 7\Plug-ins\3dxrhino.rhp “3Dconnexion 3D Mouse”
C:\Program Files\Rhino 7\Plug-ins\Displacement.rhp “Displacement”

Hello! any news about this subject? I have tried on another computer, and have the same result, bad materials previews…

You probably have moved the performance sliders for Cycles to the left, specifically the sharpness slider. Move it to the right to get sharp results. Note that it will require more computing power. Your GPU isn’t very strong anymore, so you probably will have to choose between faster and grainy, or slow and sharp.

FYI, the GPU architecture Kepler, on which your card is based, will no longer get driver updates, except for critical security fixes until 2024.

Well, the sliders were in the midle right as you can see on the 1st pics.
Now I heve moved them to the right, still with noiser result, however in deed better.!
Screenshot 2021-10-11 122118|537x500


I as home user, cannot afford better PC. Is there any way to improve this material preview quality?
Thanks

Not with the current hardware. The rendering of the thumbnail takes so long that at some point the process gets aborted by Rhino, leaving the result at the stage it was. In this case you can only get better hardware.

Of course, if you don’t mind one step pixelized you could try bumping the sharpness slider one notch to the left. That will make rendering in the viewport and rendering of thumbnails about 4 times faster.

Thanks for your reply :+1:

Actually, on the main screen, I cannot complain, some complex achitecture, sun and enviroment light, the rendering screen mode works pretty fine. But in deed, there I don’t need final material tunning… :smiley: