Auto Dimensioning

Hi, I’m new to CAD so probably don’t have much to offer in way of useful feedback, but thought I’d throw something out there for what it’s worth. I’m looking at simple 3D modelling to generate technical drawings of weldments etc that I then (normally personally) make, so nothing fancy. Rhino is about 1000% more powerful than I need but came highly recommended. However I’m a little surprised that the 2D drawing side of things seems rather basic for such an otherwise amazing program. While I appreciate auto dimensioning can often produce unworkable nonsense, on other programs I’ve used it’s typically fine for this simple work. Manually dimensioning is tedious and prone to error, and at least in my humble opinion, unnecessary. I’d rather tidy up an auto dimensioned sheet than to have to manually insert each dimension.

I also don’t much like the way the 2D drawings are presented. In “Pete’s perfect world”, I’d like a sheet to open to a standard template that is in more of a print presentation. Mixing it in with the 3D model seemed very strange to me; it’s either 2D or 3D, not both at once.

As I’ve only just begun using Rhino I may be completely mistaken, in which case sorry if I’m talking out my clacker! I’d previously read that generating 2D drawings in it was in itself tedious, but that turned out to be nonsense, and the function works well.

Take that feedback for what it’s worth; 9/10ths of bugger all. Keep up the good work on a great product.

Pete

Hi Pete- make sure you check out the Layout command - does that have more the feel of 2d that you are looking for?

-Pascal

Hi Pascal, thanks for replying. I’m still working through the tutorials but skipped ahead to dimensioning as it’s something that is important to me, as is the ability to produce a final product as a standard 2D engineering drawing.