Am I just not ready for Rhino/Grasshopper?

I need a reality check from you, experienced Rhino and Grasshopper users.

I’ve been evaluating Rhino and Grasshopper off and on for a couple of months now. I’m very impressed overall. It has powerful yet accessible features that have been well factored.

I’m impressed with the mainline experience overall. BUT, and this is a huge but, Rhino5 has an absolutely massive bug right in the middle of the engine. I of course refer to the Boolean Problem. I’ve put the product down cussing 4 times already after realizing that I’d just lost 3 hours trying to figure out why something doesn’t work, only to realize that I’m up against yet another derivation of The Boolean Problem.

I’m written McNeel tech support about the issue. They’ve offered file-specific work-arounds in response. But these work-arounds don’t allow a solution that can be used resolve generalized characterizations of the bug in Grasshopper programs. Brian, the support tech I’ve dealt with on this problems goes on to say that I shouldn’t expect any significant fixes for this problem.

I’m shocked that major revision 5 of a seemingly mature product as Rhino is has such a gigantic, mainline bug in the very core of its engine. But even more surprising is Brian’s suggestion that perhaps I’m just not ready for a product like Rhino. He further suggests that I post, as I’m doing here, to see what other people think about this bug.

So what am I missing? Where do experienced Rhino/Grasshopper users find themselves on the continuum between this being a big hairy bug that should have been fixed long ago and my just not being ready for Rhino?

I’ll accept any input and consensus that prevails.

• Bob

Hi Bob - as far as I can see, the example’s that you’ve provided to tech support, while one could say they should, in at least some cases, work, are not at all straightforward Boolean operations to figure out…

-Pascal