Timeline Playback skips frames

Hello Forum,

I am new to Bongo, but excited by how easy it seems. My only problem is that I cannot seem to control the speed of playback when I preview my animation in the timeline. When I render out the video, I can get it quite smooth with lots of frames, but when I watch it in timeline it skips a lot. How do I change this?

Welcome Alexander :slight_smile:

The timeline’s length in seconds can be adjusted in Bongo’s Document Properties. Default is 10 sec.

Obviously in Preview the number of frames/sec Bongo can make is limited by the speed of the CPU of your computer and influenced by the complexity of the model and the display mode of the viewport(s).
The ‘Redraw only active view’ option (to be found in the Rhino’s Bongo Options, and by default set ‘off’) can help to shorten the redraw-process (when several windows are open) and hence smoothen the preview.

Thanks Luc, this is exactly what I needed.

Is it possible to set the time so that the speed of playback is consistent with the number of ticks?

Animations are extremely speed-sensitive-- it makes a big difference if you feel like you are running through a space, or walking, or walking slowly. I’d like to be able to work through the animation in a way where the speed is stable, and I can just add to the end without affecting the playback speed of any other part of the animation. I feel frustrated because every time I add to the end of the animation (i.e. increase the number of tics, and move the blue slider) everything gets faster… unless I go back into options and increase the overall length of the animation in a ratio equivalent to the number of tics I just added. I hope this question is clear.

Alexander,

I can sympathize with your frustration, but I fear there is no other way than diving into the options every time you change the overall length of the animation.