Sweep tool along a closed circle

Hi
I’m really new to Rhino, but I’m out of ideas how to google my question:
If I sweep along a circular closed path, I run into 2 problems:

1. On export I end up with 2 half circles with an opening (invisible, because of duplicate vertices)
  2. That wouldn’t be a problem directly, however the auto unwrapping creates a seam right where the two halves meet, which does create a problem for me.

This also happens, when I don’t close the ring, for some reason I cut on one side, but the other one gets a seam.

I also noticed that the geometry is irregular, if I extrude along a perfect circle I would expect all edge loops to be evenly spaced. However where those to pieces meet you can see 2 extra loops, ca. half the distance between the others. I found tutorials about this, but they all had the same phenomenon, but didn’t explain (notice?).

Hi Frederik - first, I’d say look at the Revolve command, but post a file with your curves and I’ll take a look at the Sweep1 question.

-Pascal

Can you post a 3dm with your curves and the resulting surface? Also, what file format are you exporting as and which program are you going to… I assume this is where you’re unwrapping the UVs.

Can you explain anything more about the intended workflow too and what you want versus what you’re getting? My guess is the problem is a seam in a texture map in another app when rendering. Is that correct?

Thanks for the quick reply guys.
Actually the models come from someone else, I’ll ask them how exactly they do that tomorrow. I just assumed they use the sweep tool, bc. that’s what I found in tutorials.

The end plan is: Take Rhino models, export them as .fbx, import them in Blender and refine them with a script. So everything needs to be very even. I can remove doubles, get the sharp edges back and end up with one piece, but the UVs remain broken. See image. Some even have flipped in xy.