Strategies for building configurator

Hello,

Still relatively new to Rhino + Grasshopper, but I have managed to succeed with some applications such as extracting data from public registries and reconstructing geometry for energy performance calculations. It has worked better than expected.

Now we are in the middle of developing a building configurator for different apartment building types. Namely, we have studied the Estonian national building stock and divided buildings by geometry and structures into different types. With each class, we have associated some corresponding values necessary for making energy calculations. Now, as we have building classes, which are very standardized, we would like to develop configurations for these buildings.

I am currently studying different strategies and alternatives for creating such configurations. Creating a base structure for buildings with ground, floors and roof surfaces is relatively easy. However, I can not figure out what would be the best way to go for attaching rectangular very standardized wall panels to the facade. Each apartment building has around 5 to 6 wall element types. The picture below shows these standard solutions for the two different regions of Estonia.

I have studied two different approaches.

1. Using Rhino’s blocks. But I have understood that this a quite problematic and blocks are not adaptive!?
  2. As I know Revit, using Rhino.Inside.Revit for driving placing Revit’s adaptive elements on the facade.

Now the questions:

1. What would be the best strategy to go and why?
  2. In either case, I need to define quads with points to add Rhino’s blocks or Revit’s adaptive elements, I guess. Different segments of the facade of those buildings have different wall panel types. Later, for deciding which block or element type to use, should I already divide base curve (purple in the picture below) into segments and include this information in these curves somehow?