Solid with sponge-like surface?

I want to create an object with a sponge/bubble-like porous structure on the outside. It should be a solid.

What could be an elegant solution?

I’m a newbie to Grasshopper. What I tried so far:

1. Created a sphere and linked it into Grasshopper: Brep

2. Created random points in the bounding box of the sphere: Pop3D

3. From the random points, created a 3D Voronoi diagram: Voronoi³

What happens here is that around each point, a cell is constructed. The surfaces of neighboring cells coincide.

4. Intersected the sphere with the Voronoi diagram: SInt

The result still is a sphere. Only it is assembled of irregular cells, and there is no structure on the outside. Steps that would make it work:

1. After creating the Voronoi diagram, give a wall thickness to the cells.

2. Intersect the walled Voronoi diagram with the sphere.

I don’t know how to do that with Grasshopper, and I don’t know if it would be a smart solution. Because: There would be unnecessary complexity on the inside, the walled cells that are invisible.

Screenshot

Hi Felix,

Are you looking for something similar to the shape of the Moon?
If that is so, try this:

moonlike_shape.gh (10.3 KB)

1 Like

@djordje this is really interesting! However, the surface of a sponge looks quite different.

Hover over the image in the following link and - at least to me - it looks more like a Voronoi diagram:

http://www.farbenkurier.de/hersteller/schuller-viskose-schwamm.html

Ok, I got it.
Switch between the “constant radius wholes” and “tapered holes”.
Increase the “holes number” for better effect.
moonlike_shape2.gh (19.1 KB)

1 Like

@djordje thanks - it’s great to see a different approach! However, it is not yet quite what I’m looking for.

What I tried in the meantime: Applying Facet Dome on a set of points on the surface. This looks like a 2D Voronoi mapped to the surface. I then played with Extrude Point, but got no good result.