Scaling in file changes ability to extrude curves and cap extrusions

Hi there,

I’m relatively new to Rhino so please bear with me, I don’t understand a lot of the Jargon!

I imported a timber mouldings pdf into a new rhino file. All of the closed curves extrudecrv/sweep1 and cap without any problems. Great.

However if I scale any object in the file, including object other than my mouldings, and continue working, Rhino decides that the exact same curves can no longer be extruded or capped properly. I am faced with the following messages:

‘Curves selected to extrude include self-intersecting curves. This may produce undesirable results. Do you want to extrude these curves?’ (Funny, they didn’t have self intersecting curves a moment ago before I scaled!)
Or if I can extrude the curve, when I attempt to cap it I get this message:
‘One attempted object is still open. The openings did not have closed, planar loops of edges.’
(Funny, it extruded and capped perfectly before I scaled!)

Please help, I’m going mad.

I have tried projecting the curves to C-plane before extruding to check if they are planar and they are. I have tried exploding and re-joining to see if there were any problems there. There are none. The curve is classed as ‘closed’ in object properties before extruding.

Please help.

Best,
Charlotte

Welcome @ca.hutchings
Please provide more info/examples

Hi Fred,

All of my closed curve mouldings extrude or sweep and then cap without issue (see screen grab 1&2)

If I then scale anything in my file (lets say I scale the extrusion of the 1’ square I have at the side there), I am now no longer able to extrude or cap ANY of my curves without issues occurring. Suddenly Rhino tells me my curves are made of intersecting curves and cant be extruded or they can be extruded but then won’t cap properly! See below.

I have no idea why scaling something would do this. Any ideas?

Thanks,
Best,
Charlotte

1 Like