Rhino 5 for MAC is filling up RAM-memory

Rhino fills up my software memory (RAM). When I use a file on 60MB it takes about 6-8 GB of the memory. It’s starts on about 500MB when I open it, and then it just escelate rapidly from there. When I use some commands it just’s out of control. Worst is when I try to “print to pdf” it peaks on 16GB in no time. Rhino of course stops working for a while when this happens.

I haven’t discovered this problem before, because I have been working on smaller files. That was ok, even tough som functions like “print to pdf” is incredibly slow.

I have noticed that some other software like Photoshop also is taking up a lot of space and can be slow on removing data from the memory, but not like this. I don’t think I should use 7-8 GB of RAM to print out a paper.

I have a Yosemite 10.10.4, 2,2 GH i7 and 16 GB of RAM.

Anybody experienced the same thing or have a solution?

Hi Erlend
I too had similar issue.
I’m a beginner, hopefully others will suggest a solution soon. In the mean time, to get by, you can look at: Tools manu, File utility, Purge Unused Information. [maybe command+S before to be safe as I’m a beginner here]
also you can get [free] from the Apple store the Memory Clean app.

Thanks! I’ll check it out!

Can you please post or send us your model so we can duplicate this? See Reporting Problems as a guide for the kind of information we need. Thanks.

@epiphany How long was your modeling session? Are you noticing any patterns of activity - for example, printing to PDF as mentioned above? - that seem to be causing the memory footprint to balloon? Does it happen with specific files?

modelling session: 6 hours
PDF printed 2 times

I’m having the same problem now… any Idea???..
It opens and immediately slows down all the system. :confounded: