Replacing branch content

There is replace items for a list.I wonder is there something similar for replacing branch contents?

Lists and Branches are basically the same thing. GH calls them ā€œbranchesā€ as that fits within the ā€œtreeā€ concept, but they are just List<T> types.

I am not a programmer. I dont really understand what ā€œListā€ means. I am just able thinking with ā€œnormalā€ widgets. Are you saying that I can use the replace items widget for branches too? But how?

http://grasshopperprimer.com/en/index.html

more specifically

http://grasshopperprimer.com/en/1-foundations/1-4/2_what-is-a-list.html

A list (or a branch) is an ordered collection of items. Thereā€™s a first item (at index=0), a second item (at index=1), a third item (at index=2), etc. You cannot have items at negative indices. You also cannot have items at index=n without having items at all indices between zero and n. Note that each item (sometimes also called ā€˜elementā€™) can be null. Null items lack a value entirely, but they still occupy a position within the list.

Technically a list can contain no items at all, if it has length zero, but itā€™s debatable whether or not thatā€™s conceptually really a list. Programmatically yes, within the Grasshopper UIā€¦ maybe.

If you want to get the nth item out of a branch, youā€™d use the List Item component with an index of n-1.
If you want to replace the nth item in a branch with another value, youā€™d use the Replace Items component with an index of n-1.

1 Like

Thanks but I know what a List is but there was ā€œTā€ letter afterwards which was hidden because David put among special characters

Thanks David, maybe I misunderstand, but what you wrote works only if there is only one branch in the list. Because Replace Items will replace every nth item in every branch. And this is logical because every branch has its own ā€œListā€ and the numbering starting again from zero.