Rendered Viewport - Mesh Models & Graphics Cards

unhandled

Hi,

I’m an architect who’s been using Rhino for a long time as a design and render tool with the Maxwell render plugin. The plugin nature of maxwell render and ‘maxwell fire’ preview windows allows me to avoid adding an additional piece of software into my workflow such cinema 4d.

I generally work with a rendered viewport with ‘curves’ linework switched on which is kind of a mimic of the sketchup look which used to be pretty popular.

I keep the actual building model (NURBS) as a reasonable sized file that doesn’t cause many issues even with an average graphics card.
When it comes to rendering i have a library of Vizpark FBX mesh trees, plants cars etc which i add into the file in large quantity. Maxwell render also has a grass generator mesh but i don’t think this affects viewport peformance.

Basically i’m on the design side of the process rather than a renderer and don’t want to go down the path of 3ds max + forestpack/tiles generators/marvelous designer etc, but am aiming for a similar outcome using Rhino. I am always editing designs after ‘final’ renders have been created.

Is there a way to get Rhino to manage very large files in rendered mode, such as getting a high end p2000/ p4000 quadro card. I’ve read that GPU doesn’t really affect rendered display port performance but given the high poly models are mesh format is this a different situation?
By the sounds of it Rhino 6 in shaded mode performance will benefit from such a card although this is not ideal?

Thanks

(Przemysław Doliwa) #2

What is a very large file to you? Generally pushing a lot (i mean here really big ammounts of objects) isn’t good for openGL. Use blocks wherever you can also work in rendered mode isnt best idea. Wireframe without isocurves and bboxes should help somehow.

I was thinking a 150mb nurbs building model and maybe 750mb-2gb in fbx meshes trees and vegetation in render mode.