Rectangular pipe for a triangulated roof structure

Hi everybody,

I’ve been searching for a way to extrude/pipe a triangular grid as structural support for the facade of a project of mine. I have managed to put together something like a “Frankenstein” of a script from some suggestions from here:

The problem is that because the surface that I am applying the grid to is a free-form one, I get always at the ends of the extrusions unfitting and ugly results. Does anybody have an idea how to get all the continuous lines joined together, so I can maybe rebuild them a bit later, to make them smooth, and also how to apply rectangular piping to them so I get some nice-looking joints also for the interior renders later?

Picture from the continuous seams I think, might help the joints to look better

Here’s a picture from the bad joints:

I guess the topic has also something to do with this here:

But I am new to GH so I have no idea how to work with a python script…

And the script until now
Roof Structure.gh (23.1 KB)

Thank you in advance for this!

I assume that you know what a Mesh Normal is. If yes … first issue is that torsion free beams little matter. Then … the node join is rather a nighmare to design and implement on site (general case: any blob type of envelope).

So … I would strongly suggest Plan B: stand alone frames on per Face basis. This approach - some years ago - was a bit unthinkable … but after the Parametric delirium/pandemonium AND “some” real life issues here and there … people start to understand the obvious advantages.

That said nothing beats a Mero KK System … but that’s another animal.

Mesh_Offset_ToFaceBeams_V1.gh (129.4 KB)

1 Like

Hi Pfotiad0,

thank you very much for your reply! It means a lot that somebody is trying to help me out in this case!
It turns out that this is not working for me, because after I baked the surface it turned out that it is actually a polysurface, after I turned it into a mesh this happened…