Rebuilding Curves - What's the the point significance?

Hello all,

Trying to teach myself Rhino here by watching a bunch of tutorials. I keep seeing people rebuild curves and changing the points. What’s the significance and how do I know what points I should rebuild my curve to? Any tips and tricks for a total newbie?

Points in rebuild refers to the number of control points. Usually you want to have the needed number of control points but no more. How many are needed for a particular task is leaned through experience. Try different values and see what happens. You can always Undo. Also save frequently and then you can go back to your last save.

Do you know why everyone rebuilds their spheres with degrees of 3?

who is everybody? Rebuilding has also some negative aspects. Positive, as David says, is optimise cp count and equally spacing in between them. Negative aspect: You actually move away from the initial position. If you like to increase control points but not move away you should use increase degree instead. Nurbscurves can consist of one subcurve or multiple subcurves . So they are single or multispan. Same for surfaces. For surfaces you can even see the span in shaded mode. The more isocurves shown inside your surface the more spans (more subsurfaces) it has. Now there are people (like me) trying to use as few spans as possible, best only single span. This is benefical, because it lets you better control the curvature. However going for multispan has the advantage that the subshapes are connected with a certain transition in between, which allows you to cover a greater area without matching them.