Rasterized detail in vector output mode in layout

Dear all,

I have run into a mistake/bug, which I can’t replicate. But this strange behaviour is what I was looking for and can be a huge advantage in speeding up my workflow.

Lets start by saying that I am an architect, and the biggest issue in using Rhino is that I had to go through the process of updating 2d drawings or using ViewCapturetoFile to get nice illustrations. I am missing the functionality of Revit or Sketchup where the documentation is updated automatically within the layout tabs.

While printing layouts in “raster output”, everything on the layout page (including 2d linework of details, texts, logo etc) is rasterized:

When printing in “vector output” all details using for example “rendered display mode” are represented as lines without shading, clipping planes etc:

It now seems that I have changed something in one of my display modes, that forces Rhino to rasterize the viewport/detail using that display mode, even when I am printing with “Vector output”. That is actually really great, because I could mix 2d linework, texts, dimensions etc. in vector graphics, while being able to implement “up to date” screenshots on the same page without using ViewCapturetoFile and re-importing bitmap as “Picture frame”. See here - this is a layout printed with “Vector output”, 3 details are rasterized while everything else is vector output with real text:

Because I don’t know what is actually happening, I am afraid that I will loose that functionality in one of the updates. Could you explain why is that happening or maybe implement function “Force raster output” in display mode?

Thank you

Hi Pawel - - I think that is just how it is supposed to work - individual details that are in some raster/shaded display mode will be printed as raster and ‘wire’ details will be vector. If you re-import the file to Rhino, you’ll see the raster details are ‘Pictures’

-Pascal

Hi Pascal,