Quadtree or recursion with image sampler

Hello,

I am still new to grasshopper and I’m trying to figure out how to replicate this image effect? I assume it would require some sort of recursion or quadtree in an image sampler. Also, maybe after creating the quadtree I assume they might be using a pick and choose or a similar tool that allows to scale a module into each quadtree square?
I have seen similar discussions but none that includes an explanation or sample script of how to do this?

83288faf53c74e3556411023298c51ac

This might be of some help to you.

Thanks HS_Kim for sharing! I’ll take a look at it

Hi HS_Kim! thanks for the script it’s very interesting.

If I may ask since you already end up with individual squares, is there a way to have a sort of PickNChoose system where one could contrast the shade of the square in the image sampler and asign a certain pretdetermined shape, like letters or shapes like a star, square, circle, according to the value from 0 to 1 in the image sampler. The tricky part is I know PickNChoose doesnt scale shapes, as far as I know. I made a quick example by hand

this could be a way:

File:
Frit Pattern_re.gh (306.0 KB)

Try improve this

image quad.gh (140.4 KB)

Using dice faces

@anon39580149, @HS_Kim & @Baris thanks you so much for the replies guys! I’ll take a closer look at it and try to wrap my head around this methods

Ps: Before the tutorials I had seen about quadtrees involved recursion using Anemone, so I’m still wrapping my head around the theory of how to achieve this only with domains, sets and lists.

Hi @Baris, awesome solution! There’s one thing I can’t wrap my head around, maybe you can explain. How does the algorithm choose which shape will go on each square? Is there a logic or is it just random?