Precise double curvature from curves

Hi , I am trying to build a surface from a closed curve (double curvature) and two support curves (simple arcs).

I am using Patch command = good results, but when I use the intersect command between the curves used for the patch…they are not quite touching the patched outcome. I guess this has to do with the patch parameters I can set within the patch window dialog. I am trying to find out if there is any tutorial or vide or maybe you have insights to teach how to get these type of surfaces. I am a designer and I am constantly using these approach (specially in furniture seats). I am trying to finally achieve a precise surface that I can deliver to the producer. My goal is to have a surface that could be intersected by the generative curves and they will touch in each of the points.

Find attached the file, and thanks always for your invaluable insights.
RHINOFORUM.3dm (3.0 MB)

hi Bruno, I tried a Network surface after splitting the blue curve at the long end. it worked okay . maybe this isn’t the outcome you are looking for.—Mark

Like this?

It worked better than with patch, but the curves are not intersecting 100%

If you split the blue curve by the short axis instead of the long one you will get closer - intersection curves are:

But…
Your patch surface deviates by 0.02mm or less. That’s surely more than good enough for a chair back. So going further is just a lost cost.

Regards
Jeremy

I’d be inclined to Sweep the center profile to both ends of the long profile, then Trim the surface with the outside curve.

Hello - What John said, only even simpler - Revolve the red curve on the center of the green arc, trim with the blue curve:

-Pascal

2 Likes

Hi @pascal,

But the OP wants a surface that intersects his original curves. The blue curve does not lie on your revolved surface…

Hi @John_Brock,

But the OP wants a surface that intersects his original curves. The blue curve does not lie on your swept surface…