Polysurface to Mesh to Subd Trouble

Hi there, I’m new to Rhino but not to 3D modeling as a whole. Recently, I’ve been trying to figure out organic modeling & architecture.

Here in this file, I have a polysurface of a poly surface of a part of a design, but when I convert it into a mesh and then use the TosubD command it turns into a porcupine. (re-applies many extrusions and steps I previously completed is what it looks like to me)

I’ve searched on old posts that this has to do with trimmed and untrimmed surfaces or something, is there a way to fix it? At this point I don’t care about deviation from original model parameters.

Warning it’s a pretty big file - includes both the original polysurface I made and the mesh I derived from it.

Do I have to start over? Is there any other way to ge that “smoothed” look that subd gives?

Hello - you may want to QuadRemesh then convert to a SubD.

-Pascal

1 Like

Hi there, thank you for your answer.

One problem though: The Quad mesh command gets stuck at either 70% or 75% no matter if I input the polysurface or the mesh.

If you run the diagnostic Check command on your mesh you should see several issues (such as intersecting faces) which may give you problems downstream.

So I took your polysurface as a starting point for some quadremesh experiments. On my laptop with 16GB memory I couldn’t complete a quadremesh in a reasonable time. But by using wirecut to split your model into three tiers I could quadremesh each of tthem successfully. Trying to convert the three new meshes into subd took all night and when completed there were severe spiky distortions.