Pipes on Mesh Isocurves

Hi everyone!

I am brand new in GH so I have a fairly simple question.

I have a mesh (created from Weaverbird with a certain thickness) and i want to choose some isocurves that construct the mesh and then pipe them. I manually created an example of what I am trying to do by baking the mesh’ s vertices and by connecting the points on which I want to create curves and then pipe them. The two baked pipes are a sample, I want this manual point interpolation to be repeated around the mesh like an array. Also I want this curves to be created only on the U direction and not the V, as the baked ones.

I hope this is clear. Any input would be very much appreciated!
pipe along mesh.gh (9.6 KB)
pipe along mesh.3dm (413.4 KB)

Thanks a lot

This is the best I could do. First off, I manually moved the base geometry to the world center and oriented it “facing up”. Next, i created a bunch of rotated planes which then intersect with your mesh. The resulting curves can be piped.

Not sure how you’d organize the mesh vertices. What seems so logical to us isn’t necessarily easy to reproduce, but maybe someone else can help out.

pipe along mesh_re.gh (37.0 KB)

How about this: cull all more or less parallel (to world xy) curves.
(Actually, those whose perp frame is more or less 90 degrees to world xy… same same).
More or less meaning a maximum deviation you can set (8 in this case). Had to adjust it a tiny bit to catch all curves.

pipe along mesh_re2.gh (32.6 KB)

Hi!
I tried a different method… I probably gone out of hand… but here it is.
pipe along mesh_re.gh (26.8 KB)

The “algorithm” is this:
-splitting each edge to 2 halves
-for each mesh vertex finding the 4 nearest half-segments
-sorting found half-segments by its POLAR position to a mesh-normal plane
-here we can “blindly” join 1st segment with 3rd, and 2nd with 4th
Now we have a “cross” for each mesh vertex, but each line of the cross can’t join with the other line (of the same mesh vertex).