Open Polysurface no matter what I do

Hi guys, I’ve been trying my best surfing the forum to find a solution to this but I’m still a student and quite new to this and have not been able to close this polysurface for 3D print. When I throw the STL for slicing it looks nothing like the 3D model I made.

If you guys could help me that’ll be great!

WEBSHOOTERS v2.3dm (1.2 MB)

Hi Jake - I’ll see if I can get you pointed the right way - hang on a bit… as is, I’m not surprised you’re having trouble - you need to be way more careful in building.

-Pascal

Hey Pascal! Thanks for helping! Been only learning this software for about a week on and off. I’ve been using tools that I’m familiar with like Patch and Loft and Join to slowly mold my 3D model. Did manage to get all of them to be joined but can’t figure out why it’s still open if it’s joined :confused:

Hi Jake - use ShowEdges > Naked edges to display the unjoined edges - look carefully at those in a wireframe viewport and you’ll see where things are awry. I confess I’m having trouble understanding your intentions with the surfaces in this object- I’ll do my best… But I strongly - extra strongly - suggest looking at and understanding the material here:

https://www.rhino3d.com/download/rhino/5.0/Rhino5Level1Training/
https://www.rhino3d.com/download/rhino/5.0/Rhino5Level2Training/

as well as looking at stuff here:

https://www.rhino3d.com/tutorials

Otherwise, you’ll be spinning your wheels…

-Pascal

Hey Pascal, I think I might know where I went wrong. I’ll try to fix it!

Hey Pascal, I added a bottom patch onto the layer with naked edges and it should technically be closed but it seems that it is still open. Do you want me to upload my latest file?

Hi Jake - the object you posted had naked edges all over the place:

and they are not even close: