Nvidia Quadro p2000 4GB vs Gtx 1070 8GB

Hello, this is my first post on this forum and I have tried to come to a verdict by reading other posts but no answer completely satisfied me. I am an architecture student looking for a GPU to a mobile workstation for use with mainly Rhino but also with Maya AutoCAD, ArchiCAD and Revit. There is a lot of ambiguity among the different recommendations of GPU’s and I intend to improve my understanding of the video cards impact on the modelling process with this thread.

I am necessarily choosing between two setups:

i7 7700
16 GB RAM
512 GB SSD
QUADRO P2000 (4GB)/ GeForce GTX 1070 (8GB)

I am aware of the optimized drivers of the quadro which deliver higher precision and reliability. However, I do not fully comprehend what this means. I whant to minimize the risk of Rhino crashing but 100% accuracy in precision for client delivery is not neccessary, since I am not sending my models to a professional constructor. I want my program to run as steadily as possible with as high FPS in RENDERED & SHADED mode as possible. I am going to work with differently sized projects (mostly 30MB but also 100MB), hence I would prefer not to bottleneck the capabilites to work with larger projects.

My question is neccessarely: will the quadro p2000 with 4GB vram deliver higher FPS when working with large objects in Rhino (and the other programs i mentioned) compared to the GTX or will the GTX with its 8GB vram deliver higher FPS, without being more inclined to crash in the middle of a project? I highly appreciate any support on this matter and if someone could shed some light upon the specifics of the quadros driver optimization and ”stability”, it would be awesome!

Thanks!

Hello Niko, can this article help you?
I’m working with:
i7 7700
16 GB RAM
512 GB SSD
GeForce GTX 1050 Ti (8GB)

Rhino never crashed but I noticed some problems with Osnaps in large files (with external 3D blocks) in shaded view. Sometimes the OSnaps don’t popup.