NURBS surface (2D) from 4 curves

Hello,

First of all, I am new to the software Rhino. What I am trying to do is to create NURBS surface from 4 curves (Each opposite side has the same curve parametrization- same number of control points and degree).

When I use “sweep rails”, the surface is generated with NURBS elements intersecting the boundaries (for my purposes, the lines should not intersect). This seems like a simple problem but I could not figure out a way to form a NURBS surface with no lines intersecting any lines.

Attached are the four curves and the generated NURBS surface with intersecting lines. res1.pdf (15.9 KB)

Later on, I am interested in the analysis of the surface using isogeometric analysis.

I appreciate any help!

Use EdgeSrf for this - that will generate a surface that uses the input curves’ structure.

-Pascal

Dear Pascal,

Thank you for the quick answer! I tried it with EdgeSrf- I got a similar response. Please see the attached!

edgesurf.pdf (14.1 KB)

sample.3dm (26.9 KB)

Oh, I see what you mean by crossing - that is hard - you’ll need to move surface points around, I would say… even then, as a single surface that pays attention to the input curves… tough one. You can PlanarSrf with these but the result will be a trimmed plane.

-Pascal

Thanks for your comments! I try to find different solutions. (by the way, PlanarSrf is not what I need)

Ooh yes, tricky indeed.

Here’s my go at it. Be careful though, it’s a delicate, ugly little surface…

sample.3dm (172.8 KB)

If you Join the two curved curves, and the two straight ones, and set the

CreaseSplitting

command to

SplitAlongCreases=No

Then Loft the two curves, you may, or may not, get the thing you are looking for…

sample (2)_PG.3dm (59.6 KB)

-Pascal

What’s wrong with Patch or Network Curves?