Noob question - exporting DXF with meshes

Hi there,

I’m new to rhino and have a question about converting a 3dm model into a DXF model. I’ve figured out how to load the model and can view it, and I’ve figured out how to export the model as a DXF file, but all of the surfaces appear to be SPLINEs rather than MESHes as I was expecting/hoping. I’m trying to puzzle through the various export options and am not quite sure how to go forward.

I chose a surface at random from the 3dm model, looked at the properties->details and see this:

surface  

ID: 26817bb7-f8c0-45c3-8718-5224a32d741e (132159)
  Object name: (not named)
  Layer name: Buildings::RoofTop Surface
  Render Material: 
    source = from layer
    index = -1

Geometry:
    Valid surface.
    trimmed surface.
      Plane Surface
        "U":  (-1184.9 <= U <= 22.2594)
        "V":  (-153.134 <= V <= 1.51618)
  Edge Tally:
      3 boundary edges
  Edge Tolerances: 0 to 0.000149158
    median = 5.37682e-09 average = 4.97211e-05
  Vertex Tolerances: all 0
  Render mesh: 1 mesh  5 vertices  3 polygons
    Created with fast meshing parameters.
  Analysis mesh: none present

This appears as best I can tell to already be a mesh (render mesh: 1 mesh, 5 vertices, 3 polygons). That’s what I’m hoping to see exported in the DXF file, and then I suspect I can figure out the rest from there.