My new keyboard, with Rhino logo

Last week I built myself a new keyboard. I got around to customize it with a Rhino logo as well (:

This is a split 40% keyboard. I’ve been customizing it with the key layout I’ve been using for the past 15 years.

DAS keyboard layout

I imagine that in the coming time I’ll be adding custom key layers with keys for Rhino commands and all that. Should be fun.

Right now I need to practice a bit to get used to the new keyboard. My personal typing record is 116 words per minute, I’m back at around 70-80 at the moment.

23 Likes

and what are the potentiometers left and right for? to increase the energy injection feedback? bzzZZZZ :smiley:

I’ve not yet customized those yet, so they are on default behavior: right knob is pgup/pgdn and left knob is volume up/down for their rotary action. These work also as buttons actually. Left knob is also the Win-key, right one is currently AltGr.

Since the keyboard supports mouse keys I could make them control mouse cursor for instance, or one do mouse wheel.

The code for the custom firmware for my keyboard can be found here: qmk_firmware/keymap.c at jesterking · jesterKing/qmk_firmware · GitHub

In case anyone wants to know, the keyboard is a Kyria split keyboard from splitkb.com. Apart from the PCB kit I had in it two Elite-C controllers, OLED displays, two rotary encoders with industrial knobs and acrylic plates for case. Further complemented with switches and keycaps.

At minimum you need the PCB kit, two controllers, a TRRS cable, switches and keycaps.

The page I linked explains this, so be sure to read up.

I have enjoyed the project build so much that I kinda rolled into toying around with other controller boards, I’ve got now a couple of Teensy 4.1 boards and a bunch of WeAct blackpills. This is my first foray into this kinda stuff, but hugely interesting.

It would be cool to use these knobs for slider control in GH :wink: