Min/Max Slope Pathfinder in Kangaroo

Hi Guys,

I am new in Kangaroo, and still trying to get a feel for all the settings.
I saw this nice animation of way finding done in Kangaroo and decided to replicate.

I think I got the logic and system working, but still something wrong with it.

1. Results are not predictable
  2. Not sure if I setup ClampAngle correctly.
  3. Some of the slopes are still more than 5 degrees.

PathFinnding_Kangaroo_01.gh (199.0 KB)

1 Like

How can I improve it?

1. Tried a couple of things, but still can’t figure out what is wrong. I am trying to get something like on attached image.

2. I found a solution from @DanielPiker but it was done in Kangaroo 1 and I can open it on Mac to get the logic behind.

3. I am trying to make same test but with Galapagos, bout for now Kangaroo looks more promising. I wonder if there is a way to hook Galapagos to Kangaroo to update strength values ?

Hello
Maybe you need to decrease the number of division on your curve ?

Hi @arten,

Try this:
pathslope.gh (188.3 KB)

The approach I used is this - dividing a straight line between the points into many segments, then fixing the ends of these segments in Z, and controlling their length.
If they all have the same length they have the same slope, because the difference in heights of their ends is equal.
The points are all pulled onto the target landscape, and there is some bending resistance to make the corners smooth.
Obviously you cant have rounded corners at the hairpin bends while staying exactly on the landscape and also keeping exactly the same slope. You can play with the relative bend/pull/length strengths to control this.

3 Likes

Once you have your curve, you can take perpendicular lines, project them to a horizontal plane and sweep, then use booleans to find where the land needs to be cut away or built up to keep a non tilting road

1 Like

Thank you @DanielPiker.