Laying out contours for laser cutting with Python

So I’m still fairly new to this all so pardon if I’m asking bad questions. I’m using Rhino Python Editor and I’m trying to create a script (while also learning to script a bit) that will essentially contour any closed polysurface model at an interval of choice, Orient the curves to the C plane or some other plane so they are all together (as if I ran Make2D) and then arrange them so that they are in a line, in order, with a small gap between them.

It gets really messy with the whole organizing of object IDs in the big for loop… I gave it a shot tho.

I can already see there are some sloppy workarounds not to mention just some stuff that just isn’t working… but I just dont know the alternatives. Please provide any ideas you have for bridging the gaps and/or cleaning it up

Thanks so much!

edited with updated script
Contour Model Updated 1.py (1.2 KB)

Thi @lmboyer04,

This from the Rhino.Python help:

import rhinoscriptsyntax as rs
obj = rs.GetObject("Select object", rs.filter.surface + rs.filter.polysurface)
startpoint = rs.GetPoint("Base point of center line")
endpoint = rs.GetPoint("Endpoint of center line", startpoint)
distance = rs.Distance(startpoint, endpoint) / 10.0
rs.AddSrfContourCrvs( obj, (startpoint, endpoint), distance)

Just another option…

– Dale

1 Like

Thanks, helps with the contour part. Any ideas for how to pull off the moving of the contour curves/projecting and arranging them?

From the script I can tell that you have literally no clue what you are doing, so I think a better start is to go through the RhinoPython 101 / python primer:

https://www.rhino3d.com/download/ironpython/5.0/rhinopython101

Also this: