Laptop purchase help

Hello all I am an novice Rhino user, mainly designing smaller things. I recently upgraded to Rhino 7 and need a new laptop. Are there any good laptops that can run this program under $1600? Thank you. I was considering this one.

Some things to keep in mind:

— Dale

1 Like

don’t search for gaming laptops, search for work stations

What is the reason for this advice? I’ve been using gaming laptops and desktops for a decade.

4 Likes

because gaming laptops have more powerful gpu than cpu and for cad modeling the opposite is better. I bought a gaming laptop too and now I regret it haha. I mean for a similar budget I could get a better workstation with more ram etc. at least that’s what I 've learned. (also. don’t buy acer predator).

my personal (not mcneel official) “designer to designer” recommendation is to look for an i7, or i9 processor, an nivida rtx card (geforce or quadro, I personally use quadros) with an much vram and cuda cores as you can afford.

16gb ram is good, 32 is better.

my personal rig is a watercooled i9, rtx quadro 5000 with 64 gb ram from titan computing.
it’s a monster and has handled every model I have ever thrown at it.

the rendering in rhino 7 is gpu enabled and as such, if rendering is important, you’ll want to spend more money on your gpu and save a little on your cpu.

a good friend told me once as I was starting my consultancy in the 90’s " as a digital artist, it’ll be important for you to never skimp on lawyers, accountants, or computers"

32 GB of RAM,
SSD drive
Fewer core CPUs (with High clock speeds per core)
Don’t get a 4k laptop screen . Not worth it.
A gaming Laptop is the way to Go.
A good GTX 1660Ti is more than sufficient.
You should be able to find something below $1600.

Don’t fall into the RGB trap like me. That didn’t make me more productive.

1 Like

Fewer cores does not always mean higher clock speeds.

Sorry . Corrected my description. Fewer cores with Higher clock speeds per core