Are gaming laptops still the best bang for the buck for running Rhino....?

I have been using an Asus G72GX for the past 7 years when I need to use Rhino on the go…It ran Rhino well but is now slower than my desktop and I have gotten used to the speed and don’t want to give it up. I have another large limestone project that I expect will require me to be mobile once again. I can get the OK on a 2 grand laptop easy enough, not so sure I can expect the same if I push for a 5 grand unit. I want to stay with a 17.3 screen size and nvidia graphics card. I found this (Asus Intel Core i7-6820HK) for around $2200 any opinions on how I could expect it to perform…?

If anyone has a laptop they are happy with feel free to chime in.

Thank You
Brian

I found this (Asus Intel Core i7-6820HK)

I own this laptop and really love it. Have had it for about a year now with no issue to date. It is very speedy and reliable. The best part is because of the huge fan cooling system it is always very quiet even during heavy processes like rendering. Also, because of that cooling system it is never ever hot or even slightly warm (the thing I hate most about thin laptops is how hot they get like macs around the keyboard). The only issue with this laptop is the weight. It is about 9lbs - I don’t travel so much with it, but if you will be on the move often it is something to consider.

Software I use heavily and daily (and often at the same time):

• Rhino
  • Grasshopper
  • Maya
  • Zbrush
  • Revit
  • Keyshot

None of these have given me any issues.

1 Like

Thank you for the response…Unfortunately the one I linked above is for demo units that can only be purchased at the store and the closest store to me is halfway across the country, so I need to find a similarly priced laptop with close to the same spec’s. Size and weight doesn’t bother me, my old laptop was 9 plus pounds.

Here is a link to the kind of models I need to be able to work with. I saved it in R5 format but I work in R6.