Kangaroo with fixed surfaces

Hi there,

I am quite new to the software of Rhino and Grasshopper.

Background info about context/project
I am working on inflatable object. But I am currently really struggling with creating certain spots on a surface that stay fixed when pressure is applied. I am aware of anchor points, but I want create for example a rectangular with a circle drawn on top of it, and when applying pressure, everything surrounded by the the circle will rise and the circle itself will remain flat.

I downloaded a plugin for Kangaroo Physics, and I have Kangaroo 2.
Anyway, could somebody people help me out with how to create those fixed surfaces in an inflatable?

Caya

Hi @cayakors

To fix a region of a mesh you can anchor all the points in that region

inflate_anchor.gh (17.9 KB)

Thank you so much!! I am going to check it out

Hey, I am still stuck. I analysed the insights of yesterday and tried to make my own version out of it, since in the end I want to change the shape of the circle and size.

I don’t know what I did wrong but my mesh only contains a few points and solver gives an error.

I feel such a noob… but can someone please give me some tips?

test inflate_anchor.gh (13.5 KB)

@cayakors, you need to internalize your geometry! Your current document is empty.

Test inflate anchor.3dm (3.5 MB)

I guess like this…

The main problem is the mesh that you use for the simulation!

It features only 4 faces, which is not enough resolution. You can fix that by defining a smaller (Target Edge) Length for the TriRemesher. In general, the higher the mesh resolution, the more accurate the result of resolution that you get, but also the longer the computation time.