Kangaroo 2: Deflate and re-inflate a fabric membrane

Hello everyone!
I am new to grasshopper and more so to kangaroo 2. I am exploring modular inflatable structures for facade use. By looking across forum I have learnt to inflate and deflate volumes and applying gravity load. (Please see the attached files) I started with a single volume (ellipsoid) deflated or shrunk it and then tried to inflate the shrunk volume back again to its original form. The start and end geometry do not come out the same. I think the I intend and/or need to restrict the pressure parameter to achieve the result may be. Any help in this regard, other improvements or suggestion would be really appreciated.
@DanielPiker if you can please.
Thanks and Regards!

Start Ellipsoid Volume
Start ellipsoid volume|308x469

Deflated Volume under gravity load
Deflated hanging

Re-Inflated Volume from shrunk volume
Inflated tilt

Rhino and Grasshopper files
Deflate Inflate.3dm (173.7 KB) Deflate Inflate.gh (19.5 KB)

@xeson_saqib Welcome
You are running an illegal version,
Rhinoceros 6.3 - Undefined
Download a (Legal) Free for 90 days Evaluation Here

Apologies and Thank you, I will see with my school about it and get this version for now.

1 Like

Hi,

Did you ever get a response?
why is the shape after inflation is larger then the original shape?

Hi Shoval,

I’m not sure I understand the question being asked in the original post at the start of this thread.
Is the aim to create a non inflated shape that takes on a specific pre-determined form when inflated?

This is actually a rather complex and non-linear problem.
First of all, many shapes are impossible to form as inflatables (for instance a bowl, or anything with parts which are concave but with positive Gaussian curvature), unless you add some other internal connections. So taking a shape and deflating it will not generally give you something that inflates to the original shape.