Join polysurfaces

What is the way to join between the 2 sides of the following pink fence? the open triangle in the middle…

One way is to Scale1D both so that they overlap, create a plane on the intersection and use that to trim both back.

1 Like

Thanks Wim
How do you create the plane on the intersection?
I don’t succeed…

exe 219.3dm (11.2 MB)

I don’t want to take away Wim’s work , but have a couple minutes . I’ll give it a try.
With intersect enabled on osnaps , I think you can creat a 3 point plane on the upper intersect points and then draw down to some mid-point on lower intersection. Then if the plane doesn’t completely pass through all , just extend surf in desired directions.
Self-taught jibber jabber ----Mark
Probably better way someone else may have

thanks.
another problem which I have is that shaded mode display is wrong…
the drawing is far from 0,0 world, but moving it near 0,0 doesn’t solve the problem

• I would make a cross-section/profile of the railing’s ‘T’ shape.
  • Draw a path.
  • Sweep one rail.

It’s easier to build and easier to change.

Good Idea :slight_smile:
I will try it
Thank you very much
And by the way - Your Lynda tutorials are wonderful !!!

If you are still having problems with this one you could try RefreshShade or ClearAllMeshes.

I have tried all - moving object to 0,0
refreshshade
clearallmeshes
nothing helps… almost impossible to work this way… very confusing

:unamused:

Does TestZBiasFactor help in any way? You’ll have to play with the values a bit…

OHHH YEHHH IT HELPS !!! :slight_smile:
Is it a new command? I didn’t find it in help menu…
What is the minimum value which is allowed?
I have reached 0.03 in order to solve the problem…