Invalid Mesh from vertex indices

Hi, I am Kennedy;

I am an architecture student, I am having problems providing creating a sort of three-dimensional Voronoi structure, as a facade within a closed Brep. The final geometry is displayed however the output says, it is an invalid mesh, so I cant bake it.
I searched on this forum to find solutions to this problem or similar ones, but all failed. I have tried unifying mesh normals and deconstructing and reconstructing mesh, but to no avail.

this is the exact message from the ‘D’ output of the ‘Null Component’:
Mesh: ON_Mesh.m_F[1287168].vi has invalid vertex indices.
Invalid Mesh.gh (36.5 KB)

Any suggestions or ideas are very welcome!

Thank you.

The problem is that you are about 570,616 units away from the origin. This will cause precision issues with meshes. Move your geometry close to the origin and all works fine. (also the definition is much faster when you are near the origin). https://wiki.mcneel.com/rhino/farfromorigin

Invalid MeshFix.gh (33.6 KB)

If for some reason you cannot move the model near the origin then Pufferfish’s Rebuild Mesh component can fix it (but this wont fix the definition slowness issue).

Invalid MeshRebuild.gh (34.5 KB)

6 Likes

Wow! Thank you very much.
Michael Pryor

The mesh looks superb. :speak_no_evil: :speak_no_evil: :ok_hand: :ok_hand:
After placing it near the origin.

However, rebuilding the mesh at its original location with the Pufferfish component did not really make it better. I think It just made it bakable.

Is there another way of creating really precise meshes, away from the origin, without having to use the “farfromorigin” approach?

Thank you very much again

However, rebuilding the mesh at its original location with the Pufferfish component did not really make it better. I think It just made it bakable.