Interaction between Ribbon bar and Sidebar pallette?

Hi, just found out I can change ‘themes’. So I added the ribbon bar on top for more flexibility in my work. At school I started learning Rhino for Windows first and the addition of the top ribbon bar really helps making it more intuitive.

However, when I switch tabs, with the first few tabs, everything works fine, but when I get to the ‘Curve Tools’ and beyond, it changes the sidebar on the left along with it.

I imagine this is because the options don’t fit into the ribbon bar and there is more space needed to show all the possible tools?

Could it be a workaround to instead of replacing the sidebar with the standard toolset, to add a double ribbon bar whenever it is needed of the amount of tab-options don’t fit in just one bar?

The reason why I ask this, is that I can of course, workaround by adding a second ribbon bar ‘all the time’ with the standard sidebar tools within reach, however, then I would have that ribbon bar just showing the same tools as the sidebar for most of the time, when I’m not using any of the tabs that change the sidebar. I don’t like to use my screenspace for a bar that mostly shows the same as what’s being shown in another part of my screen.

Is my question clear? Maybe I’m not working in a very functional way, so if there are better ways of dealing with the infrastructure of menu’s within Rhino for Mac, please enlighten me :smile:

Standard sidebar

Transform tab selected, standard sidebar still showing

Curve tools tab selected, sidebar replaced

This is normal behavior also on rhino for windows. The idea is when you pick the CurveTools tab, that the tools in the sidebar also show those tools specifically adapted to working with curves. The same happens for Surface and Solid tools.

HTH, --Mitch

Correct behavior as far as I can tell.