Idea - mini properties window

Hi

Any ideas how one can create a mini object properties window?

I would like to have a fixed window (at the bottom of rhino) that simply states the object name/block name/layer) when selected.

Cheers

Hi @IanB ,

You could achieve this with an Eto dialog/form UI.

Adding only the features you want and customizing it how you desire.

Hi Michael

Sounds promising but I have no knowledge with Eto dialog/form UI.

Any good pointers to get me started?

cheers

Hi @IanB ,

Are the only properties you need to see the name and the layer the object is on?

If that’s it I can probably mock something up for you.

Do you want this information in a floating UI window, a docked toolbar of info similar to the “status bar” OR drawn on the screen/viewport in say, the bottom center of the viewport?

1 Like

That would be awesome. I requested selected object’ name and layer display at the status bar so many times, but sadly even years later it’s still not implemented in Rhino. Any chance for this to work in Rhino 7, too?

Hi @Rhino_Bulgaria ,
This could be done, my using a custom Alias (command), and the object name and layer name will be displayed in the command bar.

Not sure if I understand what you mean. The idea is to be able to see the object name immediately after selecting a single object or its sub-object (control point, surface edge or a joined surface which is part of a polysurface), without the need to run any extra command. :slight_smile:

Currently, the Status bar of Rhino 7 could show the number of selected objects or the object’s layer (but not both simultaneously), but it’s incapable of showing the object’s name itself, which is super strange. :slight_smile: If two or more objects are selected and they are part of different layers, the Status bar displays “Varies” instead.

I found a similar discussion from two years ago:

Hi @Rhino_Bulgaria ,
I understood your request. But that can only be solved by McNeel.