How to render png images with a transparent background?

Hi, I’m new to Rhino.
I’m trying to render some .png images without a background on the new Rhino for Mac
When I preview them in the viewport set to render mode they look ok, but when I render them they came out with a white background.
I’m using the PictureFrame command with the alpha transparency option.
How can I render png images without a background?

Thank you, L

Open the Material editor from the Render drop down menu and add the same png texture to the transparency channel of the pictureframe material. Post the png too if you can, it would be good to use it as a bug/feature request.

Thank you Brian,
still not working.
I´m attaching some samples so see what I mean

Thanks… my test didn’t have black in it but this looks like a bug to me. I’ll file something now for the developers to look into. In the meantime, I made you a transparency map to use with this texture map. I also made a png version with an alpha channel in PS but it didn’t work any better than yours.

@andy might have more input here too.

Thanks…
I will do this for now

Hello Brian,
I’m having an issue with images not showing alpha channel or otherwise. I’ve already managed to use picture frame to place images but now any further attempts give a gray field with an error message ‘image not found’. Can you take a look at this. Perhaps I’ve mis set an import setting?

Images.zip (2.4 MB)

Top2.3dm 2.zip (170.9 KB)

I see this here as well for the Top image and filed it as http://mcneel.myjetbrains.com/youtrack/issue/MR-2474

I did find that using Export As from Photoshop to save new copies of your png files allowed them to be imported but the alpha is shown as white… this will be a separate bug report. http://mcneel.myjetbrains.com/youtrack/issue/MR-2475