How to Model a Swim Goggle?

Hello,

I’m new to Rhino and started around two weeks ago. I’ve been doing tutorials as well as trying out the new sub-d tools for fun.

However, I can’t really figure out how to model something like this:

Would sub-d be a smart way to go about modelling this?

I first tried to project the curves onto a plane (contoured to fit a head) then tried to fiddle with sub-d but I can’t seem to get it to work.

I think I know how to get the gasket to work, I can lift a few edges or run a sweep.

But I’m absolutely clueless on the lens / temple and nosebridge area.

Any tips are appreciated!

Calvin.

check out this video-

and this one-

and this post-

and this video from Dave Schultz

3 Likes

Thanks for the reply, Kyle!

I’ve managed to get it down to this with sub-d modelling. Not sure if it’s optimal but it seems easier to fiddle around with the imperfections. (I’m not modelling the exact version of the goggles)

Because most demos don’t have a long temple like this goggle:

I’m still struggling to find a way to smoothly create it. Do I just take the edges of the frame and start extruding bit by bit? Or do I create the long temple on the “right” perspective then bridge the two surfaces to create the curve?

Thanks again, Kyle. I’ll keep trying.

I managed to extend it via fiddling with sub-d but it doesn’t look too clean at the moment. Once I convert it to NURBS it looks like a mess.

I think sub-d is the way to go here? I’m not so sure at this moment lol.

1 Like

i think you are doing a good job. SubD is in my opinion suggested too aggressive and too often for any kind of modelling of such sorts. with nurbs you can easily do this either just probably faster if you have some experience and way more precise.

1 Like

I always recommend, model in box mode, evaluate and refine in smooth mode…

if your nurbs is a mess, it’s likely your Subd box mode (tab key) is really tortured.