How to join two surfaces

Hi

I’m new to Rhino, and I’m facing a problem with joining two surfaces. One surface is made with the surface “Loft” feature, whereas the other is made with “Surface from network of curves”. The two are created with the same curve at the interface.

When I try to join the two, I get an error stating:
“Edges are too far apart to merge”

I’ve attached my project, if any of you want to give it a try. The project has three surfaces, where only the “curved” surface is made with “Surface from network of curves”. The plan is to join all three, but I can’t even join any two of them.

Surfaces.3dm (117.4 KB)

Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

Best regards Anders

Use “BlendSrf” instead of “Surface from network” and it joined

sorry a better way would be to use “NetworkSrf” with the option “NoAutoSort” in command window

Thanks for the quick reply.

I tried your suggestions, but I couldn’t make it work. However, I then tried to decrease the “Edge curves” and “Interior curves” tolerances to 0.001, which created a finer mesh at the bend, but it allowed me to join all surfaces. :slight_smile:

These are all joined:

You have double lines at some spots, and not enough on the other parts. I extracted under Curves/Wireframe a Wireframe, deleted the double lines and added what was needed, some straight curves. I then made the surfaces by running two rails. This took around 8 minutes, and the parts unroll, except for the curved part, because of the compound curves. All the surfaces joined. The way you corrected it left in double curves that are not needed and will cause problems when you add the trailing edges. It needs to be “cleaned up”. I have uploaded what you made so you can see what I did. SurfacesRepaired.3dm (283.6 KB)

that is the tolerance I usually use for Jewelry work, and I guess that’s why it worked for me

(I had forgotten my password, and posted as “John the Modeler”, but have found it, and normally go by Zathros)