How does one extrude surface from center point?

Hello everyone,

I’m pretty new to Rhino but am making wedding rings for my brother and don’t know how to “extrude surface” to make these letters that go all the way around the extrude negatively into the ring’s surface. My goals is to “engrave” these letter into the ring.

I did as much reading and research as I could and I believe I need to “Surface Extrude from Normals”?
At any rate, I don’t know how to do this from the center of the inside diameter of ring .

I believe the approach would be that I have all the curves of the letters grouped, and if I knew how to do the controls, I would extrude from the center of the ring so that all surfaces are pulled into the ring deeper to engrave the letters. At least .7mm.

Any one kind enough to tell how that is done?

Thank you!
Pimmy’s channel ring.3dm (2.1 MB)

Wow, thank you so much for your time and help. I will try this as soon as I get home today.

How do I “sink the letters into the base surface”? Do I just select the curves that outline the letters and then Move tool I assume? ( I see I have steps before that but just wondering about this other step)

thanks.

Hi,

Fast solution>

1. copy top surface of the ring (one where the engraving goes), split the copied surface with the letters, delete remaining parts of the copied surface (non letter parts)
    1b. offset the letter surfaces 0.7mm with both sides option (for tolerance purposes)

2. join ring surfaces into 1 solid

3. booleandifference ring and letter solids

done.

p.s

if that’s a part for milling you are going to need a minimum radius on those letters.

2 Likes