Exporting surfaces to dwg for CAM

Hello all,

This is my first time posting and I’m new to Rhino. I’ve come across a problem that I’ve spent a lot of time on but can’t solve so hopefully someone here can help me!

I’m trying to machine a 3D model of a mountain on a CNC router, I’ve used Sketchup to create the model of the terrain and saved this as a .skp. This opens as a mesh in Rhino, I’m looking for a smoother flowing surface than all the triangles so I’ve used “ExtractPT” and “Patch” to make the surface I want. This model then has to be split into layers to make the pieces fit within the machines capabilities. I did this using “Contour” and “Split”, the screenshots below shows what I’m left with…

I then exported these layers individually as dwgs for my CAM software which is Genio, but then when I apply my surface finishing operation to the surface, the rest of the terrain suddenly re-appears! As in on the bottom layer the top should be a flat for the next layer and only the outer area is to be machined but the CAM software is calculating toolpaths for the entire mountain that’s not even shown in the part.

Genio will only accept a dwg or dxf but I have tried exporting in other formats then used Inventor and Vectorworks to try create new surfaces and to start from the beginning of splitting the full model into layers. I’ve also used AutoCAD to try get it working because Genio is based on AutoCAD. I keep getting the same result through each different route so I’m out of ideas…?

Maybe this method works:
Turn it into a block before slicing it using Wirecut. Like this.

Use the following commands :

DupFaceBorder on your surface (not sliced yet) = Curve1
ProjecttoCplane on Curve1 (Copy=yes) = Curve2
Move Curve2 to the right position for the thickness of your block of material
Loft Curve1 with Curve2
Planarsrf on Curve2
Use Join on all the surfaces to create a closed polysurface.