Empty Rhino is very resource intensive

Hello!

Work assigned me a new laptop, and I started using Rhino 6 with it.

All programs work pretty smooth, but as soon as I launch Rhino, without actually doing it, just opening new empty file, cooler fan decides that the laptop is on fire and starts turning on max speed.

No other program does this. Even resource intensive programs while large models are open.
This also causes performance drops in other programs, like excel, word, if I have Rhino open.

I’d understand if this would happen while doing large models/GH definitions, but simply opening program?
I have Dell Latitude 5590, it has for example new i7 cpu, it should handle these tasks without overheating.

Is it like this for anyone else?

(I hadn’t used Rhino before so I have no experience to compare with)

1 Like

Does the taskmanager show high CPU and/or GPU load for the idling Rhino instance?

That’s another weird thing - cpu usage is almost non-existant - 0.1-1%. Ram ~130 mb.
Only cpu usage are idle Microsoft processes ~10%.

Total cpu usage is ~20%. gpu - ~2%.

However, fan is turning really loud.

As soon as I close Rhino, it becomes silent.

1 Like

Got a XPS15 9560,
Same here, When rhino off, fan off. When rhino on (no model opened), fan on.
And it does get quite warm.

CPU usage less than 1% not sure for GPU, memory around 445MB or so.
Same in Taskmanager 0%,0% for CPU/GPU but memory shows 220MB,

not sure why this difference exists.
I think battery drains a bit too, this is more of an issue for me.

Not sure if it’s Rhino or if the laptop just starts feeding GPU.

1 Like

I have seen the fans spin up on my Dell Precision M3800 for when I open Rhino 5.0, this is due to the Nvidia Graphics Switching (Switching from the Intel Integrated GPU to the Dedicated Nvidia GPU). That would explain Toshiaki’s case if he has a nvidia GPU.