Download Rhinoceros_5A857.dmg does not open

After downloading the file Rhinoceros_5A857.dmg, I double click to open and mount the disk image but it does not. I get an error message on the Console as follows:

6/16/2015 9:16:56.082 PM syspolicyd[61470]: assessment granted for Rhinoceros_5A857.dmg and overridden
com.apple.message.domain: com.apple.security.assessment.outcome2
com.apple.message.signature2: bundle:UNBUNDLED
com.apple.message.signature3: Rhinoceros_5A857.dmg
com.apple.message.signature5: UNKNOWN
com.apple.message.signature4: 3
com.apple.message.signature: override:_XProtect
Sender_Mach_UUID: FD966EBF-7257-3BA6-AF38-B06F113C5549

I am not a newbie Mac user, but I cannot find any solution on the web for this, although I do see similar Console outputs. I have downloaded it twice with the same results. It seems to be a relatively new release. Could the DMG bundle have been damaged?

Has anyone downloaded Rhinoceros_5A857.dmg and got it to open successfully?

I am on Mac OS X 10.9.5 (Mavericks) with a Mac Pro 2009 with 8-core 2.26GHz CPU and 20GB memory

John H. Reinhardt

1 Like

Iā€™m having the same issue. Have re-downloaded twice.

Is the dmg ā€˜verifiedā€™ if you use Applications>Utilities>Disk Utility and then click Verify to select the dmg you downloaded?
http://wiki.mcneel.com/rhino/mac/disk/image/could/not/be/opened/rhinoinstall

Well, this is strange. Just about 30 minutes before I got your reply, I was playing around and I had some older version Rhino DMG files so I double clicked those and they did the verify/load thing. I closed the virtual disks and tried the 5A857 dmg again and it worked! I donā€™t know what changed since yesterday. i didnā€™t reboot or install anything new. I donā€™t know if mounting the other DMG files set some preference somewhere or not. I just ran a verify via Disk Utility and it checked out with a CRC32 code of $0B271CD