Difference between Two Curve Commands

Hi Everyone,

an Intro that can be skipped

I’m working hard to try and confuse myself with the results of an experiment I probably don’t really need to know.

I work as a finish carpenter, and do my fair share of staircases and handrails. The vast majority of these are straight runs… and a few have been simple curves that bender rail is capable of dealing with.

So far I have not had the opportunity to get involved with a showcase style staircase that goes past the range of what bender rail can handle. But I’d really like too one day, and until then… I mess around with modeling, and design them in Rhino.

Main Question (simple form):

Is there a way to get the Curve Command to create the same path that the CurveThroughPoints command generates?

… and getting long winded, (I’m sorry to say):

In the picture below… I have rising treads with a set offset from each edge.

Sometimes, I’ll just run the Curve command… and set all of my control point where the offset and leading tread edge intersect… and that gets me a nice curve that doesn’t go through all of the control points that I clicked on.

Alternatively,… If I actually add in Points to these locations… and run the CrvThroughPoints command… I will end up with a curve that stays on course every time.

Color Key:
Cyan Curves = CrvThroughPts cmd
Magenta Curves = Curves cmd

Curves_Diff (handrail tests).3dm (2.4 MB)

Attempts to save face, and minimize my foolishness:

I guess it goes without saying that different commands exist for good reason… and that just because two commands share a common word (‘curve’) doesn’t mean that they should act the same way in a software program.

But I can’t stop from thinking that if I better understood the details behind this difference… I’d be doing a better job at modeling with Rhino.