Designing for 3D printing (especially ceramics)

I’ve been using Grasshopper to design for 3D printing for about six months now, and figured I’d share some of what I’ve learned. I’m not asking a question here, just documenting what I wish I had found when I started out months ago.

I’m 3D printing ceramics, which are different from plastics in that extrusion width is more or less fixed.

For plastics, you can make thinner and thicker lines by extruding at different flow rates. Higher rates squish against the already-hardened previous layers and produce a wide line, and low flow rates cause the plastic to stretch and produce a thinner line. If the nominal extrusion width is 0.4mm, you can get anywhere from 0.2mm to 0.6mm with high reliability (depending on specific plastic and printer).

Ceramics don’t work that way. Because the previous layer is still soft, high flow rates squish into and deform the print. And clay doesn’t stretch; low flow rates result in tearing and holes.

What does this mean for Grasshopper? Well, organic shapes tend to have variable cross-sections. Surface offset, etc, use offsets relative to the normal of a surface at a given point, so when the slicer comes along, a wall that is 2mm thick at each surface normal might vary between 2mm and 4mm depending on the angle from vertical.

Take a simple vase shape, modeled as a loft of a bunch of polygons with some variation in radius to make it interesting:

printing-surface-loft-result

…baking that into Rhino, take a look at the variation in wall thickness depending on phase of the wave:

23 92