Constructing a funnel /Trim the model into pieces

Dear All

I want to construct a funnel and i have several problems.
I am not a designer or engineer and I hope to express my problems in an understandable way. The goal of the whole project is to print the created file with a 3D printer.

• I created the shape of the funnel by a 1/x curve.
  • I created the shape of the funnel by a 1/x curve. It was moved parallel and connected the correspnding corner points. The body was created with Revolution 3D.
  • The funnel should be cut so that the individual parts can be printed out with the 3D printer and then put back together. Fasteners are to be constructed at the interfaces. The assembly should be easier later
    the trim function is not working. Don’t know what to do.Parametric1 Parametric4
    It would be great if you can help me.

If you use PLA to print with I’d suggest using this material

to weld the 3 pieces together. That way you are sure to get a good joint and also save the time/effort to make the connectors. If you decide on this approach I suggest reading this page

because that solvent is pretty nasty stuff and you have to be careful with it.

PS: that’s a pretty radical funnel shape.

pseudoesfera_Yo.gh (14.8 KB)
the square shows a method for sectioning

thanks for your help. The funnel is quite big. The dimensions are shown in this sketch.

Just connect your new surface “see image” then change the other dimensions

Here you can check. I did it what you advice but it does not look like your example…Can you check please :smiley:

10052020.gh (52.6 KB)

you must connect a surface not a brep.
you also changed axis therefore you must change the direction when extruding
pseudoesfera_Y.gh (18.2 KB)

ok thanks for the correction. I’ve been working on the model. Can that be done that way or not?11052020.gh (50.8 KB)

In the picture you see the top of the funnel which I printed with PLA (Scaling object to 50%)